- How to use goal planning
- Turn goals into outcomes and tasks
- Add more detail to the goal you're building
- Turn an outcome or task back into a goal
You've completed the 7 question workshop and you've got a load of great ideas in the backlog. But as you start to work through the list of ideas some themes become clear, some ideas are related, some aren't actually goals, but could be an outcome or a task for a goal.
To assist you quickly and easily turn goals into outcomes and tasks we built goal planning.
How to use goal planning
Goal planning is accessible in the Prioritise component of the Roadmap module, beneath the chart. Click the arrow next to Goal Planning to open the feature.
Once the team has voted on the priority goals the goal planning feature comes to life. Drag a prioritised goal to the drop zone by clicking and holding on the goal's move button and dragging it to the drop zone. The drop zone will turn blue when the goal is over it. Drop the goal.
Turn goals into outcomes and tasks
The goal will be displayed in the goal planning feature. Now drag the goals that are outcomes or tasks to the respective outcome and task drop zones. When a goal is dropped onto the outcome drop zone, it is turned into an outcome and related to the goal. Goals that are dropped on the task drop zone are turned into tasks with a status of backlog and related to the goal.
Add more detail to the goal you're building
Once you have built your goal with outcomes and tasks, clicking on the goal title will open the goal detail page for the goal where you can continue to work on the goal.
Turn an outcome or task back into a goal
If you decide that a task, outcome, or goal actually isn't what you thought, clicking the back button on the respective task, outcome or goal will remove it from the goal planning feature and it will reappear as a goal in the list of backlog items. If you click back on a goal, any of the goals that have been turned into outcomes or tasks related to that goal will also reappear back in the list of backlog goals.
Any goals created in the Goal planner feature will remain there until they are removed, or the goal status is changed from backlog.